classes
Below is an alphabetical listing of classes.  Please also see our Calendar page.
Millicent's classes are FREE.  Call 301-722-8100 for more information. 


 

Beyond Intro!

You've taken the Knitting Intro class. So what is next? Do I dare dream to make _____? you ask yourself. Sure! Join this new ongoing class that meets once a week. You choose a project you'd like to tackle and we will guide you toward a pattern that will challenge but not frustrate. An instructor will be available to teach you skills that you need for the project. Enjoy good company with knitters working at your level. Be inspired by their knitting and ideas. Expect a lot of fun! You are not committed to come to every session -- we are here for you when you need or want us!

Dates/Times:

Wed Jul 9, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Aug 6, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm

Building Blocks KAL

Join us for this popular and effective knit-along for newer knitters. You will learn knitting skills throughout the year while you knit an afghan block every month. Topics include reading patterns, reading a chart, twisted stitches, lace, cables, and more. Last year's group highly recommends this knit-along program by Michelle Hunter. Look for changes or reminders on Millicent's Facebook page

Dates/Times:

Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm
Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

Building in Color KAL

We are working on a pieced afghan by Michelle Hunter of Building Blocks fame. Building in Color has us knitting strips using 10 different color patterns. In July we will work on Panel 6, Elongated Stitch. in August we will work on Panel 7, Mosaic Knitting. Look for any details or reminders on Millicent's Facebook page.

Dates/Times:

Sun Jul 6, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm
Sun Aug 3, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

Crochet: Intro

This class is geared for students who have never crocheted before or who have basic skills and want to grow those. You will crochet a sampler scarf with ten stitch patterns. Most importantly you will learn to read a crochet pattern. Our teachers are experts and will help you build confidence as your skills improve.

Dates/Times:

Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 2, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 9, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm

Crochet: Intro

This class is geared for students who have never crocheted before or who have basic skills and want to grow those. You will crochet a sampler scarf with ten stitch patterns. Most importantly you will learn to read a crochet pattern. Our teachers are experts and will help you build confidence as your skills improve.

Dates/Times:

Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:30 pm-4:00 pm
Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:30 pm-4:00 pm
Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:30 pm-4:00 pm
Tue Aug 5, 2014 2:30 pm-4:00 pm

Help me! I'm stuck!

For those of you who find frustrations in your knitting and crochet and are waiting anxiously for us to re-open after the weekend, here’s your chance to get that help without competing with classes. We hope that this will be a long standing event at Millicent’s. Help Me! is a drop in event. No need to register.

Dates/Times:

Tue Jul 8, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Tue Jul 22, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Mon Aug 4, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Knitter's Night Out

SPECIAL!! Knitter’s Night Out : a new monthly event for the many knitters who can’t make it to the Knitters’ Anonymous daytime meetings. We will meet the last Saturday evening of every month from 6pm to 9pm. Bring whatever you are working on and a snack to share. Come have fun with us!

Dates/Times:

Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:00 pm-9:00 pm
Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:00 pm-9:00 pm

Knitting: Intro

You start at the very beginning: how to hold your knitting needles, and in the course of 4 weeks, you learn to read a pattern, to read your knitting, to read a chart and to execute 10 different stitch patterns, including cables! This class will give you a solid foundation to move onto ever more exciting projects. The first class is 2 hours, while all others are 1.5 hours long.

Dates/Times:

Thu Jul 10, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm

Knitting: Intro

You start at the very beginning: how to hold your knitting needles, and in the course of 4 weeks, you learn to read a pattern, to read your knitting, to read a chart and to execute 10 different stitch patterns, including cables! This class will give you a solid foundation to move onto ever more exciting projects. The first class is 2 hours, while all others are 1.5 hours long.

Dates/Times:

Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Wed Jul 2, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Wed Jul 9, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm
Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:00 am-12:30 pm

Lace Sampler KAL

This ongoing Knit-Along, working on a lace sampler, is now closed to new students. Bring what you have, where-ever you are in the pattern. We all support one another with the latest challenge.

Dates/Times:

Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm
Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

Learn to Knit Quick

Here is a quick exposure to knitting. For three hours those who are game will put knitting needles in their hands for the first time and finish their one-time class knowing how to knit and maybe even how to purl. We will start you on scrap yarn and then encourage you to pick out a beautiful NORO to start a scarf. Please tell your non-knitting friends about our “Quick Knit Intro.” This is a one session class that is offered repeatedly this summer. Please choose a date that is best for you.

Dates/Times:

Sat Jul 5, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat Aug 2, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat Aug 9, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm

Pick A Project

We encourage you to come into Millicent's and spend some time exploring our broad selection of beautiful patterns. Once you have find one that you like -- no, that you sense you MUST knit -- we will help you select yarn and assist you as you move through it. You do not need to commit to every session. Come as your summer schedule allows you.

Dates/Times:

Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Aug 1, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Aug 8, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm

Ravelry Exploration Part 1

The knitting world has been revolutionized with Ravelry. Ravelry is an interactive website for knitters and crocheters. It is the site for information on yarns and patterns. It is cool. It is great. And we're going to explore it.

Dates/Times:

Sun Jul 27, 2014 1:00 pm-4:00 pm
Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:00 pm-4:00 pm

Ravelry Exploration Part 2

This class is only for students who took the Ravelry class in the previous month and who want to do some further exploration. Our introductory class on Ravelry takes place this same day from 1:00 - 3:00.

Dates/Times:

Sun Jul 27, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:00 pm-5:00 pm

UFO's

“UFO” class – let's finish those Un-Finished Objects that we all have lots of. Bring in that sweater or hat or mittens you started once upon a time and let’s get you going again. We’ll help you figure out where you stopped and how to move forward. Come as your summer schedule allows you.

Dates/Times:

Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Jul 3, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Aug 7, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:00 pm-4:00 pm