classes
Below is an alphabetical listing of classes.  Please also see our Calendar page.
Millicent's classes are FREE.  Call 301-722-8100 for more information. 


 

Beyond Intro

Beyond Intro means just that. You've taken our Intro to Knitting class and want to practice what you've learned in a new project. You choose your project with our help and we teach you what you need to know.

Dates/Times:

Wed Sep 24, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Wed Oct 1, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Wed Oct 8, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm

Building Blocks KAL

Join us for this popular and effective knit-along for newer knitters. You will learn knitting skills throughout the year while you knit an afghan block every month. Topics include reading patterns, reading a chart, twisted stitches, lace, cables, and more. Last year's group highly recommends this knit-along program by Michelle Hunter. Look for changes or reminders on Millicent's Facebook page

Dates/Times:

Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

Building in Color KAL

We are working on a pieced afghan by Michelle Hunter of Building Blocks fame. Building in Color has us knitting strips using 10 different color patterns. We are nearing an end: working on Panel 9 in October. Look for any details or reminders on Millicent's Facebook page.

Dates/Times:

Sun Oct 5, 2014 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

Crocheted Basket

This fun class uses only one skein of super-bulky TeeRag yarn and a simple crochet stitch in the round. Your crocheted basket will have handles. This is a free pattern off Ravelry.

Dates/Times:

Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Crocheted Bowl

Use one skein of TeeRag and a really big crochet hook to create a bowl perfect for holding yarn. Free pattern off Ravelry.

Dates/Times:

Thu Sep 25, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
Thu Oct 2, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm

Dante Purse

Knit this clutch using only one skein of Noro Silk Garden. Learn to knit a slip stitch, insert a zipper, make tassels. This pattern is found in "What Shall I Knit Tonight."

Dates/Times:

Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Help Me! I'm Stuck!

Bring your problems, your unfinished projects. We'll help you right yourself and send you home happy.

Dates/Times:

Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Wed Oct 1, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Wed Oct 8, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Intro: Crochet

This class is geared for students who have never crocheted before or who have basic skills and want to grow those. You will crochet a sampler scarf with ten stitch patterns. Most importantly you will learn to read a crochet pattern. Our teachers are experts and will help you build confidence as your skills improve.

Dates/Times:

Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Tue Nov 4, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Intro: Knitting

You start at the very beginning: how to hold your knitting needles, and in the course of 4 weeks, you learn to read a pattern, to read your knitting, to read a chart and to execute 10 different stitch patterns, including cables! This class will give you a solid foundation to move onto ever more exciting projects. The first class is 2 hours, while all others are 1.5 hours long.

Dates/Times:

Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Wed Dec 3, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm
Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Intro: Knitting

You start at the very beginning: how to hold your knitting needles, and in the course of 4 weeks, you learn to read a pattern, to read your knitting, to read a chart and to execute 10 different stitch patterns, including cables! This class will give you a solid foundation to move onto ever more exciting projects. The first class is 2 hours, while all others are 1.5 hours long.

Dates/Times:

Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
Thu Nov 6, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm

Intro: Knitting

You start at the very beginning: how to hold your knitting needles, and in the course of 4 weeks, you learn to read a pattern, to read your knitting, to read a chart and to execute 10 different stitch patterns, including cables! This class will give you a solid foundation to move onto ever more exciting projects. The first class is 2 hours, while all others are 1.5 hours long.

Dates/Times:

Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm
Thu Dec 4, 2014 3:00 pm-4:30 pm

Knitter's Night Out

SPECIAL!! Knitter’s Night Out : a monthly event for the many knitters who can’t make it to the Knitters’ Anonymous daytime meetings. We will meet the last Saturday evening of every month from 6pm to 9pm. Bring whatever you are working on and a snack to share. Come have fun with us!

Dates/Times:

Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:00 pm-9:00 pm

Lokken Scarf

The Lokken Scarf is a modular pattern, made of individual components that are integrated into the previous piece. This works best with a self-striping yarn of any weight between sport and heavy worsted. Knit in garter stitch. It's fun to watch this grow.

Dates/Times:

Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:00 pm-3:30 pm
Fri Sep 26, 2014 2:00 pm-3:30 pm
Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:00 pm-3:30 pm

Lokken Scarf

The Lokken Scarf is a modular pattern, made of individual components that are integrated into the previous piece. This works best with a self-striping yarn of any weight between sport and heavy worsted. Knit in garter stitch. It's fun to watch this grow.

Dates/Times:

Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Mandala Rug

Crochet this circular rug with 2 (or more) skeins of TeeRag and a very large crochet hook. This pattern works well for beginners and intermediate hookers.

Dates/Times:

Thu Sep 25, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
Thu Oct 2, 2014 5:30 pm-7:00 pm

Nina Headband

Nina Headband uses one skein of Noro Kureyon. This cable pattern will take new knitters beyond the cables in the Intro class. It is a healthy challenge. The pattern is found in "What Can I Knit Tonight?"

Dates/Times:

Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:30 am-12:00 pm

Parker Mini I-pad Cover

Use 1 to 2 skeins of Kureyon to create this buttoned I-pad cover. You'll learn a lozenge pattern that uses a second color. This is your chance to purchase one of our beautiful buttons for your closure.

Dates/Times:

Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:30 pm-12:00 pm

Saturday Workshop 2: Margot Cowl

he Margot Cowl is an easy and fast knit because it uses superbulky yarn (2 skeins of Ushya) and a US19 circular needle. Knit in the round, it has a simple lace pattern with yarn overs and simple decreases. Fun and a great present!

Dates/Times:

Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm

Saturday Workshop 4: The Bandana Cowl

Small-ish knitted cowl that uses approximately 100 yards of heavy worsted-bulky weight yarn. Pattern utilizes short-rows for shaping. The cowl has a depth that fits into open collar of a coat. Another great gift!

Dates/Times:

Sat Oct 25, 2014 2:00 pm-5:00 pm